5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 2 of 4 First 1234 Last
  1. #11
    +1 to still open campaigns even if offline. You can restrict that nobody is able to connect to the campaign if you are worried that people will go to LAN mode (even I would say this use case is rather uncommon)

  2. #12
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    13,239
    Blog Entries
    9
    I'm not seeing what you others are. I just put my laptop into Airplane mode and opened my FGU campaign with no problem.
    Win 10,
    4.0.0
    5E
    Ultimate one-time

  3. #13
    Wasn't this a core selling point of Fantasy Grounds? This is really disappointing that Internet is now required. If you google search "fantasy grounds play offline", there are tons of forum posts here and other websites where offline play is listed as a key feature. Before the pandemic, I used offline games a lot when travelling or vacationing. As recently as last week I was telling coworkers in the D&D club I run that it was one of the core differences that Roll20 can't do. And while I can't find a source to cite, I feel like I recall an earlier comment from devs that functionality of the FG Updater was designed the way it is in order to ensure offline play is supported.

    I'm mad right now that I didn't notice this was not listed as a feature carried over from the FG Classic in the Kickstarter for Unity. I feel so cheated about it that I used the internet archive to see if an old version of the Kickstarter page might have listed it as a feature (no it does not. Only have myself to blame for not noticing sooner)

    Please bring back offline play.

  4. #14
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    13,239
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSlowestZombie View Post
    This is really disappointing that Internet is now required. .
    It's not. Or at least there is more going on here than the appears from the initial posts.

    The post immediately above yours, by me, shows that you can use FGU offline. Please test your setup and see if it works for you.

    There is obviously something going on, but not sure what that is yet.

  5. #15
    Kelrugem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland, and Lyon, France
    Posts
    2,538
    As a workaround (until we know more), you can also simply erase the license key then in the settings, then the check might not happen? (as others said, demo users can save campaigns and also use their purchased stuff, so, everything is there and stays ) At least offline working shoule be possible then, hosting of course not possible

  6. #16

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    772
    I decided to try a test of my own, fully expecting to be able to open up my campaign, but alas I cannot.

    I manually unplugged my ethernet connection. When I tried to "Load campaign" to the cloud, I got some error about the lobby - expected.

    Then I switched to LAN, and still had problems.

    I cancelled it after it hung for a couple of minutes.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #17
    Kelrugem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland, and Lyon, France
    Posts
    2,538
    Yes, I cannot load my campaign, too, I also got an error message about the start button; but erasing my license works, so, as demo user I was able to load my campaigns and to use all my purchased stuff while being offline

    So, it is possible, just the license stops that then, that may be unintended and may be fixed soon (would be nice when I do not have to switch to demo all the time for that )

  8. #18
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    28,193
    Quote Originally Posted by LordEntrails View Post
    I'm not seeing what you others are. I just put my laptop into Airplane mode and opened my FGU campaign with no problem.
    Win 10,
    4.0.0
    5E
    Ultimate one-time
    What about v4.0.1?
    FG Con 16 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - Postponed New date To Be Confirmed.
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #19
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    13,239
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    What about v4.0.1?
    I was trying not to update before my game tonight I will update and see.

  10. #20
    Kelrugem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland, and Lyon, France
    Posts
    2,538
    Moon Wizard answered to a similar discussion in Discord:
    Yeah, it's not supposed to error; just happen in the background when connected.
    So, when I understand correctly, then the license check should be disabled in the offline mode, and thence this is currently a bug Erasing the license key is some workaround at the moment

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
DMsGuild Classic

Log in

Log in